I lack blogging glamor

…but that’s ok.

“To see the world in a grain of sand, and to see heaven in a wild flower” — Or, you know, a cube farm.

I’ve been reading a lot of different lifestyle blogs and realized one thing — people tend to be obsessive about documenting the visual beauty in their lives. (Or perhaps these are the kinds of blogs I read!) I’m currently fascinated by a set of lifestyle bloggers in Sweden who take pictures of gorgeous pastry, picnics, and vintage shops. I feel a little envious about this. I’d love this space to be devoted to beautiful things and fun times, but for the most part my life isn’t that pretty. (You’ve got to be twisted if you consider the inside of a cube farm pretty.)

Instead, I’ve got a very bland routine, full of work and yoga and dinner in with the kid and husband. There is some beauty to this, yes, but for the most part it completely lacks that air of glamor that pretty 20-somethings lend their lives. But I realized that my mission is to find the beautiful moments in my life and record them here…

So we have:

Today’s beautiful lunch. My coworker Genie (the Half Korean Girl with Internet Access) took me to a Korean restaurant near our work called Kimchi. The food was authentic, and I have to say that it’s the first time I’ve ever had Omurice. I’ve seen Omurice in lots of different anime and live-action Japanese drama, but I’ve never been so lucky as to eat it myself! I was overjoyed.

See? SEE? This is no picnic in a sunny park. Despite that, I am proud to introduce you to my new digs. I’ve changed to a different project, and my cube is bigger and in the main building. I miss the noise and relaxed atmosphere of my old project, but everyone’s been nice here, and there’s plenty to do.

My kid helped me decorate, of course.

Speaking of family, we had a visit from Grandma this past weekend. It was lovely to see her as always, and she came bearing neat gifts along the lines of cool books about artists, beautiful hand-thrown hippie mugs, and creative things for my daughter to do. Grandma also had a rather bad cold, and I hope she’s feeling better now!

So, that’s the beauty in my life today. Also, my husband made me nuts yesterday by baking this beautiful bread pudding right after I very virtuously did an hour of yoga. C’est la vie — I ate the damned (delicious) bread pudding.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Pushkin

     /  August 4, 2011

    haha since you’re into those kinds of swedish lifestyle blogs, have you seen this one http://www.underbaraclara.nu/ , it’s what happens when one of those girls have a baby kinda…but she lives way up north too, might be interesting 🙂

    Reply
  2. Achariya

     /  August 4, 2011

    Haha thanks! I think they portray this life that is totally different from mine and as you said kind of a fantasy…Thanks for that one lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

