To dye or not to dye…

The second I begin to wonder something like, “Hm, is too much white showing in my hair? Should I dye it?” I have the luck of reading something inspirational about the beauty of embracing age. Advanced Style led me to the lovely middle-aged couple known as the Idiosyncratic Fashionistas, who just wrote about the joy of going gray. Or as they term it, Gray Pride.

It’s inspired me. I think I’ll keep the streaks of pure white. I’m pretty sure I’ve earned each one.

Edit: I’ve just remembered that my day began with this completely UN-inspiring quotation.  It made my skin crawl just to think about it:

Sometimes I talk to my girlfriends about aging. After a while, I noticed a pattern—without any hesitation, they all said, “Oh, no, I don’t want to get old. No, thanks, I’d rather be dead.” So then I started asking the question farther and wider, and I got pretty much a unanimous verdict. Women would rather die early than get old enough so they weren’t beautiful any more. Even women who didn’t necessary believe that they could fully understand the sentiment.

— Lisa Hickey, The Good Men Project

Seriously?  I think it’s clear that the people who really love life are the ones who wanna stick around as long as they can.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I like that they even included long hair in the Gray Pride pictures. I’m still pondering what to do with mine. Cut? Color? Both? Neither? I’ve always thought that when I go fully silver I will need to wear my hair shorter, but perhaps not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

