Round in the circle game

I’m just like any modern woman trying to have it all. Loving husband, a family. It’s just… I wish I had more time to seek out the dark forces and join their hellish crusade. — Morticia Addams

Lately I’ve been doing the inevitable thing that people do when they have a disease: I’ve been thinking about what makes life meaningful.

I think that the most amazing thing about humanity is that we weren’t handed an answer, which makes our whole entire lives one big curious exploration.  Without that curiosity or desire to find the thing that clicks inside and makes us excited, we sure would have boring lives…

Meaningfulness … some people are lucky and find it in their life’s occupation. Some find it in their hobbies.  Some, in their families.  I think most of us have to cobble it together out of a bunch of different things.

In the long run, I think that part of meaning is standing up to all of life’s responsibilities and shouldering them — but that also includes a responsibility to ourselves.  I need to remember to listen to the small voice inside of me that says “You need to contribute more to your community” or “You should fly to New York and visit your friends there,” because once I listen and do it, I know that I’ve done something meaningful.

Like my pal Matt wrote, time is short.  Maybe 38 is a good age to start that Bucket List (a list of things to do before you kick the proverbial bucket. Have you seen that website? It’s inspirational) and start checking things off — no matter how wild or ridiculous.  Why the hell not?  Looking forward is the best way to not look back.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. My grandfather has seriously been pursuing his bucket list… it’s kind of sad to think about in a way… Part of me is glad he’s doing it, and the other part is sad at the reality of why…

    Reply
  2. Achariya

     /  November 7, 2011

    No, it’s an awesome thing. It’s better to love fiercely what you’ve got than to sit around like a depressed lump, right?

    Reply
  3. Christi

     /  November 7, 2011

    I think most of us have to cobble it together out of a bunch of different things.

    Yes. This is definitely true for me as well. And I agree that it’s important to keep looking at what’s meaningful to us and to be honest about it – what really is, not what we think is supposed to be.

    Maybe we could share parts of our lists with each other and be encouraging about it? I think it sounds like a great exercise.

    Reply
  4. Achariya

     /  November 7, 2011

    Sure, I am going to put things on the bucketlist.org site whenever I think of it, but I’ll share / be accountable too. 😀

    Reply
  5. I love the line about cobbling it together. That is definitely true when you haven’t found your life’s passion in work … which I feel so pressured to do, sometimes.

    There was a site I followed a while back called 43 things, similar to the bucket list … it was also a site that connected people with similar goals to cheer each other on. I liked the concept.

    Reply
  6. Tanya

     /  November 7, 2011

    I am beginning to suspect that for most of us there is no “life passion” that is also a paying job. It’s noble to work hard at an unpassionate job to support a family… And find other things to feed the soul. :p!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

