Nutrition for cancer…and fibroids!

So come into my cave / tonight I will show you
Food is for life / and life I will show you.
If you’re havin’ problems/ I invite you here
Step into my kitchen /we will cook away your fears…

— Michael Franti, Red Beans and Rice

One of the amazing things that I found while going through all of these tests and scans from cancer is that I have uterine fibroids.

I discovered this accidentally while reading through the results of a pelvic scan. I stared at the scans and said to myself, “What the heck is this? Oh god, that explains a lot.” Did I have overwhelming times-of-the-month? Yes. Was it caused by the fibroids? Probably.

I went and googled various things. The western medicine solution was: painkiller, menopause, low-estrogen birth control, and possibly a hysterectomy. ”If you go through chemotherapy then it won’t be an issue because you’ll possibly go through menopause.”

Ok, whatever.

I decided that alternative medicine (with its roots in herb lore and ancient midwifery) had to have some kind of solution for this. And lo, there is a fabulous website that lists a number of things. Oddly enough, they are a lot of the same changes to diet and exercise that fight cancer.

Some of the things that I’ve done to help my body resist cancer include cutting out red meat, meditating, and increasing a number of healthy foods in my diet. Apparently this also helps reduce the inflamation from uterine fibroids. This website recommends that I:

  • Avoid meat and processed food / Eat salmon and tuna and lots of vegetables and beans.
  • Meditate, including visualizations that shrink fibroids. Also do yoga.
  • Use some home remedies:
    • Mix one to two tablespoons of blackstrap molasses with 6 oz. milk. Drink once or twice daily to help remedy issues related to anemia by improving iron and potassium levels.
    • Drink two teaspoons of apple cider vinegar mixed with 8 oz. of water once each day to help with the elimination of body toxins.
    • Drink Grape Seed Extract. This has been shown to make Leukemia cells commit suicide. Hey, great.

I’m not doing any of this in place of chemotherapy, but it’s to help my body in whatever way I can. Fighting keeps me from feeling helpless! I’m happy that the regime I’m doing for cancer is going to help uterine fibroids, and it really makes me think:

A lot of what I used to eat is guaranteed to make something go wrong with the body eventually. But a lot of foods help the body too!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Funny, I use apple cider vinegar as a home remedy to remove warts. It works too!

    Reply
  2. So this means I shouldn’t be gorging myself on chocolate cake and candy like I did today. (sheepish facepalm … I am eating my way through unemployment feelings this week)

    Reply
    • AND (somehow hit post too quickly) … it’s awesome that you are taking such good care of your body … which is doing its damndest for you, too, I think.

      Reply
  3. Achariya

     /  November 10, 2011

    @Jeff — oh boy, something that harsh…we’ll see if my stomach can take it, heh.
    @Justine. 😀 I suspect that you can totally have a piece of cake and candy. Happiness is part of the whole process too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

