Tape all the things!


(Photo by Hello Sandwich)

For a little while now I’ve had a fascination for pretty printed Masking Tape (MT), otherwise known as washi tape. I encountered it first on the website of one of my favorite craft bloggers, Hello Sandwich. This lady is an intrepid, crafty Australian living in Tokyo. She works on creative projects like books about wrapping paper and such. The post that caught my eye was this one about the MT Expo. What?! I thought. An entire exposition based around masking tape!? Whatever will the earth invent next?!

But it’s all so colorful and useful and fun. In short, it’s like buying a huge roll of rectangular, flexible stickers. This puts duct tape art to shame, really, or is at least the cute younger sister to duct tape (so of course the Japanese would be the ones to invent it!).


(Photo by Nileey’s Sphere)

There’s a pretty good “What’s washi tape again?” primer over here, and a few nice projects/inspiration below:

Careful though…I can totally see this hobby getting expensive

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Christi

     /  February 10, 2012

    omg where do you find it??? so cute!

    Reply
  2. it fits you. I’ve always thought you were amazingly creative with the simplest most non-creative things. 🙂

    Reply
  3. wishywashi.com

     /  February 11, 2012

    I know I’m not helping your addiction but you can get washi tape at wishywashi.com!

    Reply
  4. Ooo – I bought some while in Tokyo, and I was wondering what I should do with it! It’s time to jazz up my plain phone case!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

