Feedback: More reusing tips

Justine made a great point. The three Rs are reduce, reuse, recycle — and although my family tries hard at the last one, we need to work on the first two. Today Monkey and I headed to the art supply store and got washi tape for some toilet paper tube upcycling projects (photo above). Are we creating art, or making more clutter? Hmmmmm…

Here are a few more great comments to the last post:

From Mel:

I’d like to add a tip – wrappers, fabrics and even old clothes can be shredded and stuffed into pillows made of upholstery fabrics for a long lasting household item. Cat bed, kid pillow, couch pillow, neck pillow. We have one that was made 10 years ago and it is still going strong.

From Nora:

My box to put recycling in is a cardboard box that an air filter came in. I dressed it in one of my skirts to make it “pretty”. I also like to cut rectangular boxes and use them to hold paper or mail. I have used them to hold cords as well, since we always have a bunch near outlets. So see, you can actually clean up clutter with clutter.

From Roxanne:

Thanks for the list… a friend told me the other day that I was “hoarding” because I have two cabinets dedicated to glass jars, styrofoam trays, toilet paper rolls and plastic bottles. I know I can make us of them. But her comment made me think I need to have a more specific plan. I am going to make a Pinterest board and start with pinning these blogs you listed! Thank you.

From Justine:

The one thing we have a lot of is paper from I.’s school. And we recycle it, but we tend not to re-use it. I do feel pretty good about our waste, though. Usually we have one kitchen-sized bag of trash per week. And for clothes: I went to a clothing swap recently and it was awesome! And anything that didn’t get picked up was donated to a local women’s group.

From Jill:

I store tons of things in glass jars- nuts, epsom salts for baths, cat treats, toiletries… the list goes on and on. I save my egg cartons for my mom, who has a flock of chickens and always needs more cartons. I make clothes that are not fit to donate into rags for cleaning my hardwood floors. I use the large bags the cat food comes in for garbage bags. I use toilet paper rolls to corral cords. I try to re-use paper, but I could be much better about this. Oh! One of my favorites– I use the cute crates/boxes that clementines come in for storage in my pantry- they are great for holding spice jars, boxes of tea bags, etc.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I am not very creative or crafty, but I do try to come up with ways to re-use things. I store tons of things in glass jars- nuts, epsom salts for baths, cat treats, toiletries… the list goes on and on. I save my egg cartons for my mom, who has a flock of chickens and always needs more cartons. I make clothes that are not fit to donate into rags for cleaning my hardwood floors. I use the large bags the cat food comes in for garbage bags. I use toilet paper rolls to corral cords. I try to re-use paper, but I could be much better about this. Oh! One of my favorites– I use the cute crates/boxes that clementines come in for storage in my pantry- they are great for holding spice jars, boxes of tea bags, etc. That’s all I can think of for now. Enjoying reading everyone’s suggestions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

