No surgery for me!

I never thought I’d be celebrating the year anniversary of my cancer diagnosis with more cancer, but c’est la vie, right?

Today’s visit with the surgeon revealed that he thinks my cancer is still too “negligible” for surgery. He said that the prognosis for treating the cancer by other means is still too good to do anything life-altering like snip out a section of my duodenum. I quite agree with him. I still don’t know the next step (pending a visit to the oncologist), but it’ll be chemical, no doubt.

The actual purpose of this post is to shout out to a constant and faithful friend. I bought Cancer Pig (a Boynton plushie from Barnes & Noble) a year ago, shortly after my diagnosis. In the past year, Cancer Pig has been with me to every single doctor’s visit, chemotherapy treatment, endoscopy … bone marrow extraction … CT scan … MRI … since, and I’ve always relied upon Cancer Pig to get me through moments it was just not possible to ask another human to go through with me. Cancer Pig’s goofy pink face has always been a reminder that life is worth laughing about.

Illustrative story: My doctor was five hours late for my bone marrow extraction. I’d been fasting since the previous day, my blood sugar was dangerously low, and I was GRUMPY. When the doctor finally came to meet me, I forced him to shake Cancer Pig’s hand. He gave me this appalled look, but finally did it with a reluctant smile. In small ways, Cancer Pig helped me take back some power when I was feeling powerless, and laugh about it.

And that’s why I decided to dedicate my Halloween outfit this year to Cancer Pig (I’m wearing a kigurumi based on the iOS game Wacky Pigs, but it looks pretty similar). Here’s looking at you, transitional object! Thanks for sticking by me (not that you had a choice) through thick and thin.

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Holly

     /  October 23, 2012

    1. I am glad there will be no snipping.
    2. I LOVE Cancer Pig.

    Reply
  2. Daniel

     /  October 23, 2012

    Only you…and I men that in the best way possible.

    Reply
  3. love this. And it looks like it’s comfy sleepwear, too. 🙂 been sending you lots and lots of positive energy …. xo

    Reply
  4. barbara guzzetti

     /  October 25, 2012

    Having owned a potbellied pig for 14 years
    I am partial to pigs and their healing power. Love the cancer pig!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

