A place to plant a garden

It’s March and I have too much to talk about. In short, we purchased a house, and now we’re fixing it before we move in.

I’ve never actually lived in a house before. Something about nailing my feet down to one patch of land seems to negate my childhood. I grew up thinking that “home” had more to do with people than with a place, and that my home was therefore scattered between Thailand, New York, and Hawaii.

I’ve picked my home now, and it’s here. I hope that home becomes a magnet, drawing friends I’ve made from all the parts of the world to come and hang out with us. I can’t say that Florida feels any more “home” than any other place in the world (I have too many friends and family in far-off places for that), but here I am.

What do you do when you know you’re going to be in a place for a long time? Do you get involved in the PTA, in Girlscouts, in community activism? Do you start reading the tiny local rags and seeing the names of people that you know? Do you give money to every child that comes to your door with a box from school, and start attending the nearest local place of worship? Do you plant a garden? (At least I can answer that last one.)

I don’t know. I’ve never owned a piece of the earth before, but it seems like it might change me, hopefully for the better.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Laura Stone

     /  March 13, 2013

    Thanks for sharing. Sounds like you are in a very creative place. Best of luck–a garden is a great place to start–it is a family tradition. Love, Aunt Laura

    Reply
    • Achariya

       /  March 14, 2013

      We’ll finally have a guest room for family to visit, Aunt Laura! =)

      Reply
  2. Pushkin

     /  March 13, 2013

    For someone who never lived in a house before either (and most likely never will again after we leave this one) and now any day now celebrates 1 year in our house i will say this…it’s really weird! It’s so much freedom and so much responsibility combined in one. It’s frustrating and scary when shit breaks and you have to figure out how to take care of it and fix things…dealing with plummers/electricians and making sure they don’t screw you over etc (because they will). My best advice would be to take it really slow when planning furniture and garden etc and like, grow into things, live in the house for a while before making big decisions! Buy small little things often and build your HOME. Make it cosy and EFF DESIGN SHIT. Get a home security system and good locks. Plant trees! Get to know the neighbors, give them beer or pie or both 🙂 Get a firepit and have backyard parties. Yeah, that’s about it 🙂

    Reply
    • Achariya

       /  March 14, 2013

      Awesome advice Ms. Linda! I will absolutely get a fire pit and more shelving and do the rest of it slowly. My idea of “design” is all Thai anyway.

      Reply
  3. Eden Knoller

     /  March 14, 2013

    Congrats on the home! I have owned my home for longer than I ever planned on it. I bought an rather nondescript old house with a huge, friendly front porch and I have filled the house with coolness and clutter. I live in a city neighborhood and I do all kinds of things: put up political signs, buy stuff from kids that come to the door (even though with my own son we have donated money and “opted out” because I think they are huge ripoff, walk to the library and the park, support local businesses, gossip with my neighbors, swap vegetables and herbs, etc. I agree about not being careful about planting until you get a feel for the land. Unless it’s completely bare you want to see what grows, what areas of your yard get the most water/shade/etc. Working with native plants has been very rewarding for me. I’m more the hippie type and don’t need the greenest lawn but I mow it because it makes my neighbors rest better. You learn to compromise. Houses cost money but the reward is so much fulfilling than fixing up a rental. Enjoy!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

