Celebrating my ordinary self

I’ve had an interesting time looking at myself these past few months. While I was unemployed I swam almost every day. The upside was that I felt great; the downside was that I got skin cancer in the middle of my darned face. A few dermatologist visits later, I am the proud owner of a one-inch scar on my cheek, hiding in the crease of my smile.

Age never stops, does it? Between one weekend and the next time wears away, and suddenly I’m much older.

All of the humans in my family are attractive. The Thai side goes without saying, but the caucasian side is pretty shy about their beauty. I have a few pictures that float through my memory every now and again of various aunts of mine, modeling for me how gracefully women can age. I think one day I’ll look like them, when my hair gets a little whiter. The only part of me that’s different is height. I might seem short compared to Dave, but I’m always a giant around my family.

 

Here’s half a year of selfies, photos taken in the bathroom mirror at work. Why? There are too few representations of normal humans, especially older ones, and it’s good to get accurate representations of humans out there.

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Laura Stone

     /  March 19, 2015

    Love your writings and photos. Laura

    Reply
  2. Fred

     /  March 19, 2015

    hi Tanya,

    I too thought I was getting old when I turned 40. You probably remember climbing Mount Stone in the Olympics on my 40th birthday. When we reached the top I was boasting about my great feat, when another climber said “i’m 70 and I just climbed from the steep side.” That side was nearly vertical, and I realized that age was all in the mind. Now I’m 76, and I still don’t think of myself as old (in spite of what others might think). So, yes, celebrate your self as you are, but as older but not old.

    By the way, in the picture of you with the scarf around your neck, you look a lot like your Mom!

    Love,

    Daddy

    Sent from Fred’s iPad

    >

    Reply
    • Achariya

       /  March 19, 2015

      ” I realized that age was all in the mind.” — This is a good way to think of it! Thanks, daddy.

      Reply
  3. You’ve got the art of selfies in mirrors down pat. I’ve tried and tried and don’t seem to get it. The selfie I took of my new glasses comes the best, but I didn’t know I had so many brown spots on my face. I’ve had several spots removed by the dermatologist from my face over the years and I’m not good at putting on sun screen. I have a dermatologist appointment in a couple of weeks for the yearly check. It’ll be interesting to see what he finds. Thanks for your blogs. I’m trying to get started on it. I write, just don’t post.

    love

    Aunt Beth

    Reply
    • Achariya

       /  March 20, 2015

      I really like your selfies, Aunt Beth! I think the art is pretending you are doing it for the sake of modeling positive self-image for your kids and grandkids. “I like the way I look, and so should you.” When that comes through in the picture, it’s a good picture. 😀

      Reply

Leave a comment