Flair

JOANNA: We’re actually required to wear fifteen pieces of flair. Quite stupid actually. Although I didn’t actually choose these. I, uh, I just grabbed fifteen buttons and I don’t even know what they say!

— Office Space

This morning I finished reading ALL THE THINGS, and then there was nothing left to read. Ok, I lie, I mostly hit the websites carefully saved in my Google Reader and filled my mind with a bunch of pretty fluff. After I filled my mind I got the inevitable urge to empty it though, so today’s post is about the small things that make coming to work more enjoyable. I think I sense a theme to this blog: it’s going to be oriented toward the 9-to-5er, and the art of living gracefully within three walls. (And other random stuff, of course.)

A few kind ladies agreed to let me photograph their accessories today, things that make them feel happy to wake up and head to work in the morning. Unlike Joanna, we know exactly what our flair says.

Nicole was extremely happy to wear these earrings.  She had them on yesterday too, along with a pink shirt with fluffy shoulders.  Both items were from a small boutique near our work named Stalhi.  The earrings are neat because they look vintage, round and shiny like a 1950s button.

I used to not think about glasses at all, but now I think about them all the time.  I had a few unfortunate moments with glasses in these past few months, so I’m wearing an ancient chipped pair.  Therefore, I have glasses envy of Genie here.  She says that these are frames by Anne Klein, and the square shape suits her round face. (I know this, because I inevitably have to get square glasses too.)

Mandatory lanyards are mandatory, but some of us have affixed personality to ’em. Pins and stickers, and I absolutely approve of the Hello Kitty.

It’s summertime outside, but it’s a nice crisp autumn day under the blast of our air conditioner.  Office footwear is always interesting (I love shoes, I’ll probably post a lot about shoes), and in this case we’ve got the contrast of the pretty and comfortable closed-toe Dansko maryjane with a fancy lookin’ sandal.

I went for sandals this morning and now my toes are cold. C’est la vie!  I wore them because they showed off my pedicure, which I did late last night thinking that my daughter would really love the additional sparkles.  She hasn’t seen my toes yet, but I think she’d approve.

And there’s your report from the 9-to-5 frontlines.

Additionally, here is where my mind wandered this morning:

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Donna

     /  July 19, 2011

    Will your daughter say the additional sparkles light up your knees?

    Reply
  2. Achariya

     /  July 19, 2011

    Haha. That sounds like something she’d say. And then perhaps, “you should wear more pink, mama.”

    Reply
  3. I miss you being over here in this building! All of you!

    Things making me happy to be at work today: my ridiculous manicure, my new eraser board markers, the crocheted back panel of my cardigan.

    It IS the small things.

    Reply
  4. Achariya

     /  July 19, 2011

    I miss us being there too! I need to do a whole editorial on you, Ms. Marianne. It’ll be fun, and I can photo you a lot. 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment